RAGBRAI XLI Rides Through Des Moines

RAGBRAI (Register’s Annual Great Bicycle Ride Across Iowa), a river-to-river bike ride across the state of Iowa, kicks off on Sunday, July 21 and runs through Saturday, July 27. (Did you know that this ride is the longest, largest and oldest touring bike ride in the world? Whoa! Another reason I’m a proud Iowan.)

Bike.TheDishonDesMoinesThousands and thousands of cyclists will pedal their way across the state during the week-long bike ride and take on a total of 406.6 miles! Bikers will start the ride by dipping their tires in the Missouri River in Council Bluffs and end with a final tire dip in the Mississippi River in Fort Madison.

Good news for the capital city…RAGBRAI will stop in Des Moines for the first time in 16 years! On July 23, cyclists will come into West Des Moines, pass the Historic Valley Junction and end in Water Works Park, the official campground for the evening. The next morning cyclists will head out of Des Moines on a route that takes them through downtown Des Moines, the East Village, past the Capitol Building and through the fairground’s Grand Concourse.

2013 RAGBRAI Route:

  • Day 1: Council Bluffs to Harlan (56.8 miles)
  • Day 2: Harlan to Perry (83 miles)
  • Day 3: Perry to Des Moines (49.9 miles)
  • Day 4: Des Moines to Knoxville (49.9 miles)
  • Day 5: Knoxville to Oskaloosa (52 miles)
  • Day 6: Oskaloosa to Fairfield (52 miles)
  • Day 7: Fairfiled to Fort Madison (63 miles)

Runners on RAGBRAI? Since this year’s route is the 2nd shortest route in RAGBRAI history, there are a couple of runners attempting to run (yes, you read that correctly, RUN) the entire route. Two Iowa natives, Richard Kresser and Pete Kostelnick, will both independently attempt to run the route. Best of luck guys!

Want more information? Find the 2013 RAGBRAI course route here, view past RAGBRAI photos here, and download the new RAGBRAI iOS app!

Good luck cyclists…and welcome to Iowa!

, , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *